Two sisters from Ethiopia, Demiesa Berhan and Aregawi Berhan, competed the same race and timed just one second apart at 35.30 and 35.31 minutes to finish 2nd and 3rd, respectively.

Dubai―Morocco’s Ahmad Tamri topped the Elite non-resident male division, while Ethiopia’s Berhe Hafte emerged winner in the Elite non-resident female category at the 10km road run held as part of the fourth Nad Al Sheba (NAS) Ramadan Sports Tournament.

Samir Jouaher and Anne Mari Anne Mari Hyrylainen also emerged winners in their categories

Morocco tasted success in the men’s open category when Jouaher won a tough race that was decided by a photo finish, while Finland’s Hyrylainen was strongest as she took the women’s open race.

Hassan Al Mazroui, tournament director, presented the medals and trophies to the winners in all five categories.

The Elite non-resident male division race was quickest on a warm and humid night as Tamri edged ahead of the pack towards the final two kilometers. But the Moroccan was pursued by the Ethiopian duo of Nigatu Getinet Bedane and Ashenafi Moges.

However, a strong final sprint was enough to see Tamri win in a time of 29 minutes and 44 seconds, leaving Bedane in second in a time of 29.47 minutes, while Moges followed in third with a time of 29.56 minutes.

The top-five was completed by two other runners from Morocco with Taufiq Allam coming in fourth in a time of 30.06 minutes and countryman Hassan Ghachoui came in six seconds later.

The race for elite non-resident females was also a fast-timed affair with Hafte being chased down the final stretch by fellow Ethiopians Demiesa Berhan and Aregawi Berhan. Hafte had the strongest final kick as she finished in a quick time that nearly matched the men’s with 30.22 minutes. The Berhan sisters were timed just one second apart at 35.30 and 35.31 minutes respectively.

The men’s open race was totally dominated by athletes from Morocco with Jouaher winning with 30.23 minutes, while fellow countrymen Anouar Al Ghouz, Brahim Slimani and Mohammad Ait Mamas came in second, third and fourth places respectively. The only one breaking the Moroccan hold was Dubai-based Esmail Ssenyange from Uganda as he completed the race in a time of 31.01 minutes.

Dominating the women’s open run was Finnish girl Hyrylainen as she paced herself from start to finish and complete the race in a time of 35 minutes and 50 minutes.

Belainesh Yami Gurmu of Ethiopia followed in second nearly two minutes apart in a time of 37.44 minutes French girl Latifa Essarokh was third with a time of 38.24 minutes followed by Maryam Lamure also of France and Belgium’s Liz Verheyden.

There was a separate race for elite Emarati runners and this was easily won by Mubarak Rashid Hassan Al Marashda in a time of 32 minutes, 37 seconds. Obaid Mohammad Al Nuaimi was second (32:43), while Khalifa Mohammad Obaid Al Nuaimi (33.22) had the third best time.


Elite Emarati: 1. Mubarak Rashid Hassan Al Marashda (32:37 mins); 2. Obaid Mohammad Al Nuaimi (32:43); 3. Khalifa Mohammad Obaid Al Nuaimi (33.22); 4. Ali Khalifa Hamad Saeed Al Wahshi (33.24); 5. Abdul Aziz Yaqoub Ahmad Al Ali (33.42).

Elite Non-Resident Male: 1. Ahmad Tamri (Morocco — 29.44 mins); 2. Nigatu Getinet Bedane (Ethiopia — 29.47); 3. Ashenafi Moges (Ethiopia — 29.56); 4. Taufiq Allam (Morocco — 30.06); 5. Hassan Ghachoui (Morocco — 30.12).

Elite Non-Resident Female: 1. Berhe Hafte (Ethiopia — 30.22 mins); 2. Demiesa Berhan (Ethiopia — 35.30); 3. Aregawi Berhan (Ethiopia — 35.31).

Men’s Open: 1. Samir Jouaher (Morocco — 30.23 mins); 2. Anouar Al Ghouz (Morocco — 30.23); 3. Brahim Slimani (Morocco — 30.42); 4. Mohammad Ait Mamas (Morocco — 30.49); 5. Esmail Ssenyange (Uganda — 31.01).

Women’s Open: 1. Anne Mari Hyrylainen (Finland — 35.50 mins); 2. Belainesh Yami Gurmu (Ethiopia — 37.44); 3. Latifa Essarokh (France — 38.24); 4. Maryam Lamure (France — 39.47); 5. Liz Verheyden (Belgium — 40.20).

Source: Gulf News
See also:

Download Sodere app and watch new full movies for free  የሶደሬ አፕልኬሽንን በማውረድ አዳዲስ ፊልሞች  በነፃ  ተመልከቱ 

Choose your platform iPhone   Android   Roku   Apple TV


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.