Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed names a 16-member cabinet retaining six minister from the government of his predecessor.

(Al Jazeera)―Ethiopia’s new prime minister has named a cabinet that includes the former mining minister as defence minister, and retained the finance and foreign ministers from his predecessor’s cabinet.

Abiy Ahmed, who was appointed by Ethiopia‘s ruling coalition last month and sworn in as prime minister on April 2, made the announcement on Thursday on state television.

“I am requesting parliament to ratify the reshuffle of six ministers and the new appointment of 10 others,” Ahmed, a former army officer, said. The remaining ministers from the previous cabinet, including finance and foreign affairs, were unchanged.

The 16-member cabinet includes six names from the previous government of his predecessor Hailemariam Desalegn who resigned in February.

Hailemariam resigned following months of protests in the Oromia and Amhara region that led to the deaths of hundreds of people.

The protests, which initially began over land rights, but later broadened to include calls for greater political representation at the national level, met a harsh government response.

List of the 16-member cabinet

1. Mr. Shiferaw Shigute (SEPDM) ― Minister of Agriculture and Livestock
2. Mr. Siraj Fegessa (SEPDM) ― Minister of Transport
3. Dr. Hirut Woldemariam ― Minister of Labor and Social Affairs
4. Amb. Teshome Toga (SEPDM) ― Minister of Public Enterprises
5. Mr. Umer Hussen (IPDO) ― Director General of Ethiopian Revenues & Customs Authority with the rank of Minister
6. Mrs. Uba Mohammed ― Minister of Communication and Information Technology
7. Dr. Ambachew Mekonnen (ANDM) ― Minister of Industry
8. Mr. Motuma Mekassa ― Minister of Defense
9. Mrs. Fozia Amin (OPDO) ― Minister of Culture and Tourism
10. Mr. Ahmed Shide (ESPDP*) ― Minister of Government Communications Affairs Office
11. Mr. Jantrar Abay ― Minister of Urban Development and Housing
12. Mr. Melese Alemu (SEPDM) ― Minister of Mines and Energy
13. Mr. Berhanu Tsegaye (OPDO) ― Attorney General
14. Mrs. Yalem Tsegaye ― Minister of Women and Children
15. Mr. Melaku Alebel () ― Minister of Trade
16. Dr. Amir Aman ― Minister of Health

* ESPDP = Ethiopian Somali People’s Democratic Party

Ethiopia in February declared its second state of emergency in two years amid the ongoing protests that effectively crippled transportation networks and forced the closure of businesses.

In August 2017, Ethiopia lifted a 10-month state of emergency imposed after hundreds of people were killed in anti-government protests.

The country’s Oromo and Amhara people – who make up about 61 percent of the population – have staged mass demonstrations since 2015 calling for greater political inclusion and an end to human rights abuses.

Source: Al Jazeera & EBC
See also:

Download Sodere app and watch new full movies for free  የሶደሬ አፕልኬሽንን በማውረድ አዳዲስ ፊልሞች  በነፃ  ተመልከቱ 

Choose your platform iPhone   Android   Roku   Apple TV


3 Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.